When I check out an article (in the desktop version), it opens it up in its own window, ready and available for editing.
However, when I finish editing and check the article back in, the window for this post remains open. I have to manually close it each time to get back to the main window.
I can't think of a lot of reasons why someone would want to edit the article again after checking it in. So why not have the window automatically close once checked in?
(*I've recently heard from Blue Mango that it was built to stay open because sometimes people want to copy the URL for the article after its updated or created).
Given that - it would be nice to either have a preference setting (close after checking in, remain open after checking in)..... or better yet - an option available when you check the article in. i.e. "Check-in and close" or "Check-in and remain open". (This had been a popular feature request on the zendesk platform for tickets - and people voted overwhelmingly for them to implement this as an option. They've done so, and its a great time saver to be able to set your preference and change it on a ticket by ticket basis).
Personally - when I check one in - I generally want the window to close!
It's just a cleaner workflow as I'm ready to go on to my next article that I wish to edit. And the 'old window' is just in my way and a bit of clutter I have to clean up each time!
Please sign in to leave a comment.